MR Features by License Type

All Cisco Meraki access points require valid licensing to operate. MR Enterprise license covers the standard MR features, including but not limited to:

MR Advanced license includes all MR Enterprise features plus additional ones, as noted below.


MR Enterprise

MR Upgrade *

MR Advanced

Standard MR features

Note: * MR Upgrade license is not a standalone license and cannot be used to license an AP by itself. MR Upgrade provides an upgrade path for customers with existing MR Enterprise licenses in both PDL and co-term licensing models. 

In simple terms, MR Enterprise + MR Upgrade = MR Advanced. However, applying MR Upgrade license differs between PDL and co-term. 

Please see the details of using MR Upgrade licenses in both licensing models below.

More information: Meraki Mr License Guide